So I am 7 weeks pregnant with our first child!! We are so excited but trying to stay a bit cautious. The reason we haven't announced it to the whole world ... aside from the whole unwritten 3-month rule ... is because it's been quite an eventful first trimester so far, not always in the best of ways. I won't go into the down & dirty here, since people may be grossed out, but if you want to know, email me. Everything seems to be fine now though, thank God, and I can finally relax a bit.
So here's the deal: Found out May 18 at Mary Jane's apartment in NYC. (Yes, I was traveling with a pregnancy test. Sue me.) Things went great for a couple of days then quickly appeared to go south ... it really looked like I was going to lose it, but after a zillion blood tests, it became obvious that it was, in fact, sticking around at least for the time being!!
I first saw our baby (or what would eventually become our baby) on ultrasound at 5 weeks 1 day. I was so relieved to see ANYTHING at all, and in the right place too. Here's his/her pic from then:

Will said it looked like a chocolate chip, which it totally does.
Things went along and then around 6.5 weeks, guess what I started spotting AGAIN. Gahdammut!! Thankfully I had the most incredible understanding doctor in the entire world who agreed to give me a sonogram just to set my mind at ease. Everything looked fine, and at 6 weeks 2 days I got to see its little bitty heart beating away!! I cried my eyes out. Pic of Potato Chip to come.
Today (June 11) I had my regularly scheduled ultrasound, and I got to hear a nice strong heart beat of 130BPM!!! My doctor, who happens to be a reproductive endocrinologist (I've had endocrine issues in the past) said everything looks fantastic and has released me to an obstetrician. Although I got an appointment with a woman who is supposedly one of the best in DC, I am so incredibly sad to leave Dr. Preston Sacks's practice. If anyone from DC is reading this, Dr. Sacks and his staff are hands-down the best health care providers I have ever been to. I will really miss them. But hopefully I like my new OB. My first appointment with her is on July 3!
Here's today's ultrasound picture. Sorry for the crappy pic, I had to take a picture of it with my cell phone.
Apparently I'm giving birth to a triangle!

In case you're wondering, I feel fantastic. No morning sickness at all!! Whoo hooo!! I do have dizzy spells every so often, and slight waves of nausea but never feel like i'm going to puke. Thank God, too, because the bathroom at work is a good 50-second walk from my office. I'd never EVER make it. A little tired at times. I'm also on a truckload of progesterone supplements (600 mgs of Prometrium a day) since my progesterone was dangerously low earlier, and those contribute to my fatigue.
Poor Will has got to be asking himself who I am and what have I done with his wife ... "old" Simone would never EVER have fallen asleep on the couch during a Red Sox or Celtics game but that is pretty much par for the course for now.
I am elated but scared to death. I don't know thing 1 about pregnancy or motherhood. You think you do when so many of your friends have been pregnant, but when it's your turn, you find yourself incredibly daunted by what you've just done to yourself and to your life. Don't think that I am not thrilled, because I am, but I damn near fainted when I actually saw those two pink lines on a test. (Ask Mary Jane, she'll tell you all about it). These are uncharted waters into which I've hurled myself and my husband with no preparation or swimming lessons. Eeeek!!